Sometimes a Laugh is the Best Prayer

I received an email from a Yahoo Group I belong to about one of our members named Curtis having to go into the hospital today for an angioplasty heart operation to alleviate a blockage.  When I first saw this I had concerns for Curtis as would be most people’s normal reaction and the outpouring of emails promising prayer’s and best wishes soon began to flow across the group.

You should know that this Yahoo Group is for members of a  musical  organization I belonged to right after college that had 120 members between 18 and 25 and we traveled together for a year.  You can imagine we are all pretty close.

As I read the various well wishes for Curtis, I thought this is great but this is not what he really needs.  Curtis was always one of the funnier people in our group.  He “got” jokes and understood that while on the surface something may seem offensive, it actually is quite funny.  Sometimes the absurd offensiveness of it was what made it funny.

Being that Curtis is from Wisconsin and in his early forties, I couldn’t help but picture Chris Farley and George Wendt on SNL doing “Da Bears”.  So I decided the best “prayer” I could provide for Curtis might be one that made him smile.  I sent him a note sharing my vision of him and Chris Farley and also said, “I am sure if you really didn’t want all this attention you would just let the blockage grow and then self-administer CPR to get the ol’ ticker going again. As you say in your email “Piece of cake” – chocolate cake I presume?”

Within no time I got the following email back from Curtis:

“You rock.  Damn right about the blockage!  I’m a Packer fan…a cheese-head!  When I’m out of the hospital I’m going to the nearest dive and ordering deep fried cheese-curds and a malt, and then I’ll wash it down with a BOILERMAKER!!  They can all kiss my be-hind.  Packers rule and cheese rules.”

I think Curtis will be ok.

Of course, I did silently pass his name on today to God.  No reason to take any chances.

One response to “Sometimes a Laugh is the Best Prayer

Leave a Reply

