Two American Icons Call It Quits

It is a truly sad day in our country.  I can hardly bear to write about it.  First Bob Barker announces his retirement and then I see that the original manufacturerer of Pink Flamingos is closing down their factory.

For 50 years both Bob and the Pink Flamingo have entertained us and helped to define Americans.  Bob with his “Better than You” charm first hosting “Truth or Consequences” and later on “The Price is Right” showing the world just how low people would stoop for free prizes.  And Pink Flamingos standing guard in front of numerous low rent homes and trailers showing us exactly where the people who go on these game shows lived.

Seriously, I love Bob Barker.  At 82 years old he still is clearly active and only has the occasional mental slip.  What is really great about him is underneath that silver fox is the libido of a 16 year old.  We have all heard the stories of his escapades with Janice and just look at his “Barker’s Beauties”.   They are nothing more than the bait to get him out on the stage everyday.

Bob said about his retirement,

“He would take on a movie role if the right one came along, but filmmakers, take note: “I refuse to do nude scenes. These Hollywood producers want to capitalize on my obvious sexuality, but I don’t want to be just another beautiful body.”

You go Bob, you silver haired devil you.  I would love to see Bob in another movie.  Who can forget his classic fight scene with Adam Sandler in “Happy Gilmore”

But Bob holds a another special place for me.  For the past three summers when my kids have been out of school, we would all watch “The Price is Right” together at 11 a.m.  It sounds goofy, but all four of my kids enjoyed it, I enjoyed it and 11 a.m. was a good time because everyone was finally up and we would all have lunch (or breakfast) together while watching Bob.  It was the one time during the day in the hectic life of my children and myself when we all took a break, sat down and enjoyed something together.

I am going to miss these moments as they become fewer and fewer in life.  “The Price is Right” just won’t be the same without Bob.  Trailer Parks won’t be the same without Pink Flamingos.  My summer days at 11 a.m. won’t be the same either.

Leave a Reply

