Good Bye Marc-Anthony Thomas

marc

I lost an old friend today.  I can’t say we were close but we shared many things in common.  Marc and I traveled together in Up With People from July 1984 to July 1985. 

Marc was a beautiful and sensitive person and he definitely lived his life to the fullest.  He had a beautiful singing voice and was a talented dancer.  He performed for years with Cirque du Soleil before recently becoming ill.

 marc_thomas_2004_bw_01.jpg

“Death is nothing at all. I have only slipped away

into the next room. I am I, and you are you.

Whatever we were to each other, that we still are.

Call me by my old familiar name, speak to me in

the easy way which you always used. Put no

difference in your tone, wear no forced air of

solemnity or sorrow. Laugh as we always laughed

at the little jokes we enjoyed together. Pray, smile,

think of me, pray for me. Let my name be ever the

household word that it always was, let it be spoken

without effect, without the trace of a shadow on it.

Life means all that it ever meant. It is the same as it

ever was; there is unbroken continuity. Why should

I be out of mind because I am out of sight? I am

waiting for you, for an interval, somewhere very

near, just around the corner. All is well.”

 

– Henry Scott Holland

33 responses to “Good Bye Marc-Anthony Thomas

  1. Looking for words about Marc online. Found yours and smiled for the first time today after hearing of his passing. Thank you. He was and always will be a huge inspiration to me.

  2. I too travelled with Marc in UWP 84/85 and I shall always rememebr his generous, kind, and respectful soul. I swear last night I could hear him sing that soulful song “Till Everyone is Home” in my dreams last night. marc’s memories will live on for sure with his UWP family.

    Kim Hendricken//Canada

  3. Anna-Marie Devine

    I, too, went looking for words/confirmation/anything about Marc when hearing about his death this morning. He wouldn’t have known me from anyone else, but I traveled in E 98, and was a part of the staging staff in winter 99. He was incredibly inspirational and kind, and had such a peace about him that I enjoyed being around. He will be missed.

  4. Thank you for your kind words. I have had the pleasure of working with Marc-Anthony for the past 2 1/2 years. He was an inspiration to all of us on Varekai and he will always be in our hearts and minds. I miss his company already. It is hard for all of us to accept this sudden loss. His strength held us together.

    “Don’t let sorrow get the best of you. Moments like this only make us stronger and brings us all closer together.”

    – Marc-Anthon Thomas

  5. Marc-Anthony, just thought of you and i thought i ll contact you, but right now i am just shocked, how is it possible?
    You presence will be missed brother. a kind and generous soul.

    Vic – Australia

  6. The first time I saw Marc was when I attended an Up With People show in 1984. His performance was electrical, the level of talent way above anyone else in that cast. Two years later while playing drums with Cast E 86, I was delighted when it was announced that Marc would join our staff after Summer break.

    His presence on stage always lifted the level of our shows and I loved being behind the drums when he sang. We did about ten dates in Italy and for these performances, a special reprise was added to the song, “What Color Is God’s Skin?”. Our band had a nice size brass section; three trumpets, sax and trombone, so the reprise was a great place to show off the horns. (and it also allowed me to really pound on the drums).

    The shivers still run up my spine when I think of those moments and Marcs soaring vocals, the blaring horn section behind him, and a couple thousand screaming Italians waving candles and cigarette lighters in front of him.

    Marc was gifted in so many ways and I ‘ll never forget the friendship and guidance he offered me in the six months we traveled together.

  7. I travelled with Mark in Cast E 1986. He was a staff member and I was a piano player/keyboardist in the band. When I think of Mark, I remember a person who was so much at peace with himself and the world. In fact, I remember when he joined us in Virginia, he had us do a kind of Yoga/meditation. I can still see it in my mind like it was yesterday. The second half of our year travelling I was going through my “rebellious” period. One of my demonstrations was growing a goatee and long hair. There was a rule about facial hair. Eventually Mark and I had to room together. In a non-confrontational way, Mark asked me why I was growing facial hair even though it was against the rules. After explaining my own position, Mark explained to me why it was important to be respectful of rules, not only in Up With People, but also in life outside the group when I pursued my future. The way he explained it really stuck with me and eventually I matured to understand his valid point. 12 years later, I had a friend going to perform in New York who needed a band to perform with when she got there. I happened to think of Mark knowing that he was living in Brooklyn, so I called to see if he knew musicians that could help my friend. When he answered the phone, I didn’t think he would remember me. When I told him who I was he remembered me immediately. Sure enough, Mark knew musicians who helped out my friend and made her gig a success. I will always remember Mark as a very high quality human being who was at peace with his world. He is a person I will never forget. I hope he finds the peace in Heaven that he gave the world.

  8. Marc impacted my life forever. Having worked with Marc for 10 years in Up with People, we remained great friends. While he directed the musical “Metro” in Warsaw, he came to visit in Copenhagen, and was back twice just a few years ago to assist on a musical I was producing. Our fun dinners in New York a couple of years ago stand out as highlights of my recent Big Apple trips. He had so much talent, and so much going for him. Being gentle and kind by nature, yet at the same time professionally determined and expecting the same of those that he worked with, he made those around him grow. I will treasure the memories of him.

    Safe journey, my friend. Thanks for everything.

    In deep respect,

    Allan

  9. As I recall our castE86 tour, I recall very fondly, many a times a stood behind my keyboard, along with the band, and watched Marc paired up as dance partner with Wendy and Laura, many a show. He had a certain presence about him. He was sensitive, encouraging, and for me he was a positive inspiration as a talented and gifted man. Thank you, Marc for showing us and teaching that “the show must go on”. Rest in peace, my brother. You will be greatly missed.

  10. I am so sorry for the Loss of Marc Anthony Thomas. I met him back in the 2000 Up With People Casts. I travelled in C2000. I spent time with him during staging in Denver Colorado. Most of us in the 2000 Casts remember him very well and its just a few months ago that we started communicating. Unfortunately he died and died on my birthday. God bless his soul and will be missed.

  11. Marjon van Grunsven

    It was on my first artistic summit in Las vegas 2007 that I met Marc Anthony Thomas. An impressive appearance to me, a strong and solid looking man, someone you will not easily forget.
    I connected with him when he told me he had studied in Amsterdam at the theatre school.
    All I can say is this: Death really is nothing at all, it is part of us, it is part of life, it is the highest privilage a person has. We will all get to experience it, we will all go and enter the light some day…may it strengthen those who stayed behind and were close to him, that Marc will be there for you, waiting. For now, he will watch over you, strengthening the very person that you are…
    Peace, love and light…
    Marjon

  12. Leonardo Guarnieri

    I met Marc Anthony first time in Cast E 86 when cast was touring Italy and I was supporting the staff in Italian operation. Marc was singing What color is God’s skin in italian, his deep precious voice got into the body of each one in the public, still today, after 22 years, I have to hear by many people (but I’ve heard it also in every past Up with People italian show) that the way as that boy sang Di che colore è la pelle di Dio was never heard before….
    I often hear to the music at mp3 player when in the metro, Di che colore è la pelle di Dio sang by Marc is definitely my favourite one, I was listening to it this morning, but I knew just few minutes ago by Eugenio Plozza that Marc passed away. I met Marc several times after Cast E 86 but I will always take into my mind his voice singing…”till everyone is home”… till Marc will continue singing getting his memory a precious value of life.
    Thank you Marc I told you sometime when we met, I tell know in this message: “in Italy we will never forget your voice, your songs, your talent!
    Thank you for being part of my life enriching my journey!
    Leonardo from Rome

  13. I also travelled several years with Marc while on staff for Up With People. We always had a great time together and he visited me last summer while he was in Montreal. He loved Montreal. It is such a shock to hear that he is no longer with us. He was not afraid to remind us to dream big and make the best of everyday. Mon cher Marc, bon voyage! Ta présence nous entoure.

    Mark Therrien

  14. Marc Anthoy directed two of my plays when I so desperately was looking for a women to direct two sensitive female peices but what I found was the soul of an human being far outweighs their gender. He was gentle, kind and strong we email each other this year little did i know that would be the last time we communicate. He didn’t mention any sickness never a complainer always postive. God Bless him and all who love him.

  15. What a shock to hear via email today that Marc has left us here. The email reference was cryptic and most unbelieveable. I still have an email from him in my work inbox….I regret having not kept in closer touch with Marc.

    He was a great friend. A friendship that developed my first year on the road with “Up With People” as a music director (B89). The amazing talent of Marc-Anthony Thomas was the vocal coach for that cast. He was an inspiration to each member of that cast and especially to me as I began my professional career right out of graduate school.

    Marc became a great personal and professional friend over the years. I always admired him and learned so much from him.

    He is one of the major life influences that are on my mind as I go about my daily business in Entertainment at Walt Disney World and especially now at Epcot. I will be eternally greatful for the brief time we shared but will always be inspired by his talent and energy.

    While we will miss him here, I know that he has become heaven’s newest shining star.

    Au revoir, Marc!

  16. We met in August 2006 in Sydney. I remember telling you I loved you the last time we spoke and you said I love you back. I can’t handle today in finding out….nor tomorrow and the months that follow. I remember your smell, your touch and kiss, our passion. It was impossible to be together for very long, because of work and travel and a busy schedule. Who can have a relationship with a man in a travelling circus?
    I’m shocked and devastated by you missing from my life. I will see you again one day, and my heart and soul and mind will never forget you. I’ll love you forever. SXOX

  17. Had an Wide* Arms and Heart full of Love…

    Everything is passing by
    But good not everyone.

    “Break
    – Hi this is Break.
    Call me back please.

    Marc
    – …”

    God Bless You forever…

  18. Oh Marc –
    I just returned today from New York where I was among hundreds who said their final goodbyes. But as your brother and cousin said, “It isn’t goodbye, you just had to go to another level.” Your life was full of other levels and your love, kindness, talent and smile will be very missed on my level. God bless.

  19. Michael & Neil

    We meet Marc-Anthony whilst he was on tour with Varekai here in Sydney, in 2006 thru 2007.

    We immediately hit it off and enjoyed your company immensely, not to mention your generousity:)

    I can still can see you on the balcony watching the fireworks on New years Eve over looking the Harbour!

    Marc your fantastic smile and friendliness will be very missed.

    Truely saddened to know you have moved on.

    Love Michael & Neil

  20. I was thinking about Marc today and just put in a google search and learned of his passing. What a beautiful soul. I am so happy to have met him and I carry him in my heart. We worked together in Poland and New York in the early 90’s. I am not surprised to see how many lives he touched internationally. See you when I get there brother!!!!

  21. Stephan Engler

    I met Marc the first time in Hannover . He took me as the videographer to a project in Brazil and we had a great time. When I flew to Australia, he´s been the first I saw. I enjoyed his magic philsophies.Can´t believe I won´t see him again. He was on the way to Berlin for the CdS. I´ll miss a great character.
    The life is full of waves, ups and downs. I will surf a wave for you. Mahalo for all the inspirations. I´ll see you my friend.

  22. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Mississippian
    .

  23. I never had the opportunity to meet Marc other than follow ing along with the blog, however feel as if I know him well. Thanks.

  24. I med Marc Anthony about 6 years ago while I was visiting New York with my best friend Dawn from Orlando. We had great conversations and we laught a lot. I remember when I get a taxi to the Airport, saying good by to Marc and to Dawn. They both waved good by to me and spend the evening togehter. We wrote each other from time to time, we talked at the phone sometimes. Always saying yes I’m coming to N.Y. Suddendly we lost contact still I was thinking about the time we three had together. Today I was looking for his name on Facebook and when I found him, I was shocked to read that he is not with us anymore. Did I just wrote him an e-mail few min. before. I have the picture of him and Dawn in my memories when they both had a nice smile and waved me goodby. And I know one day we will meed again.
    Hugs

  25. It was great shocking news to find out Marc-Anthony’s passing from Cirque du Soleil – Corteo’s family when they were in town, Portland, Oregon, this past April.

    I had a great privilege to serve him as his dentist when he was in town touring with Cirque du Soleil – Varekai back in February of 2006.

    His love for his dearest mother and his job with Cirque du Soleil were undeniable.

    I still can recall his first visit to my clinic. I asked him bluntly “How could anyone take you seriously when you have so many gaps in between your teeth, especially person of a great status?”

    Over the course of next month and half, we worked very hard. In fact, he spent most of his day off and spare time in between shows in my clinic. On our final day, he was so excited with his new look/smile that he can’t wait to go home (New York) to show his mother. He really touched mine and my wife’s hearts. What a beautiful man. We shall miss him deeply. We will always treasure his smiles and friendship forever.

    Rest In Peace, Marc-Anthony.

  26. Tyler// Australia

    I still have the aerial solo marc choreographed for me in 2007, he was an amazing man and i have not performed that solo since.
    i think of him every time i perform and train. He made me the artist that i am and helped me to become and find who i was becoming as an aerialist.
    He is always missed and loved

  27. Daniel Roughan

    It has been almost two and a half years since last I spoke with Marc. This morning I woke up in my apartment in Chicago and just wanted to drop a line to say hi. Noticing I no longer had his email i googled him and this is what I found… I am utterly heart broken. He was my hero, mentor and constant support throughout the years. I just don’t understand. What happened? Where is he resting? Where can I say goodbye? I am full with grief which many of you have already visited. Please any information regarding his passing email me. I am so confused and in a state of shock. Marc you were the star that always inspired me to look up. I miss and love you
    Daniel cast e 97

  28. Daniel Roughan

    d_roughan@yahoo.com please email me information. Also if anyone has Lynn Morris’ info that would be helpful.

  29. Suwat Kloykaom

    It was a fun time at Ventura High School. Remembering how we all practice the dance moves. We alway thought that his dance moves was to good for us, so we tolded him that he should go on his own and make something out of him self. But he choose to stick around. The dance groop was call Rythmatic Boogie and i was in the second team call Rythmatic Bopper. Recently i was trying to look him up to say hi. But to find out that the old High School pal is no longer with us. I’m hopping to see the rest of the Brother and Sister some day for old time sake. We lost contact for over 30 years and to hear the new was heart breaking. God be with you Anthony. You will be miss.

  30. I don’t what made me think about my friend Marc at this very moment. Whatever the reason, I miss him dearly and I know he is up there singing and laughing as he did on earth. Marc was such a wonderful soul, full of life and optimism. He was a brother to me. I was fortunate enough to meet Marc when my family hosted the incredible Up With People talent in Tucson, AZ many years ago. I would love to hear from some of you that were affiliated with UWP and remember me. Take care all of you that knew and loved Marc. Marc, I love you my brother!

  31. Marc,
    You were on my mind and thought I would write to you. I’ve been doing well and I am engaged with a baby boy on the way. He’s due Aug. 15th. My fiancé is a love. You would really like her.

    I sure miss you, my brother. I know everyone who knew you, misses you. You had an amazing ability to touch many lives.

    God Bless you, Marc.
    Love you, brother…
    Tim

  32. I have set up my Orange Mail to send and receive using Outlook Express.nIt’s worked consistently for months but for the last few days adamantly Click http://s.intmainreturn0.com/bayy091615

Leave a Reply

